New Fiction Books I Got Recently [Nov. 2020]

On the past few months I’ve got some sweet new eBooks on my Kindle, further increasing the size of my ever-growing TBR list. But, who can resist a sweet deal, right?

Below I’m sharing some of the books I’ve acquired recently. It’s not everything, as some are free classic books, and some just not that interesting. Also, the list is still a bit big, so I left the non-fiction reads for a separate post. I guess I need to stop buying books for a while. Anyway, let’s check it out!

Photo by Aliis Sinisalu

Photo by Aliis Sinisalu

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

This is the book I’m reading right now. I’m a couple chapters in, and so far so good. Seems that HULU is doing a limited series based on it. That’s going to be cool!!

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia link

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia link

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic aristocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets. . . . From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes “a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror” (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico.

Click to see summary

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find—her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí, but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

And Noemí, mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind.

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn

A shorter read - only 177 pages - of a nordic mystery. Count me in for when winter hits!

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn link

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn link

When a disgraced TV presenter takes up the role of housekeeper on an isolated Norwegian fjord, she develops a chilling, obsessive relationship with her employer … an award-winning, simply stunning debut psychological thriller from one of Norway’s finest writers.

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Historical fantasy about musical prodigies? Ok, this is something I kinda have to add to my list. Music is - and will always be - kind of a sweet spot for me.

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu link

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu link

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she’ll go to make history remember her–perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.

Click to see summary

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she’ll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age–her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

And as Nannerl’s hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true–but his help may cost her everything.

In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically-told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister.

Above the Bay of Angels by Rhys Bowen

Rhys Bowen is an author that always shows up for me on Amazon, as she writes a lot of historical mysteries - and many are cozy mysteries, which you can check here. But I always put off getting new cozy mysteries because they are like light novels and urban fantasy series: long. At least with cozy mysteries there’s no need to read much further than volume 1 if you don’t want, but still, I’m a completionist, hahaha. Anyway, this is a good opportunity for me to read something from her that is not part of a series.

Above the Bay of Angels by Rhys Bowen link

Above the Bay of Angels by Rhys Bowen link

A single twist of fate puts a servant girl to work in Queen Victoria’s royal kitchen, setting off a suspenseful, historical mystery by the New York Times bestselling author of The Tuscan Child and The Victory Garden.

Click to see summary

Isabella Waverly only means to comfort the woman felled on a London street. In her final dying moments, she thrusts a letter into Bella’s hand. It’s an offer of employment in the kitchens of Buckingham Palace, and everything the budding young chef desperately wants: an escape from the constrictions of her life as a lowly servant. In the stranger’s stead, Bella can spread her wings.

Arriving as Helen Barton from Yorkshire, she pursues her passion for creating culinary delights, served to the delighted Queen Victoria herself. Best of all, she’s been chosen to accompany the queen to Nice. What fortune! Until the threat of blackmail shadows Bella to the Riviera, and a member of the queen’s retinue falls ill and dies.

Having prepared the royal guest’s last meal, Bella is suspected of the poisonous crime. An investigation is sure to follow. Her charade will be over. And her new life will come crashing down—if it doesn’t send her to the gallows.

Becoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story of Joy Davidman and C. S. Lewis by Patti Callahan

I got this one because… it was cheap? Also, looks interesting, as it’s about C. S. Lewis' love.

Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan link

Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan link

In a most improbable friendship, she found love. In a world where women were silenced, she found her voice.

Click to see summary

From New York Times bestselling author Patti Callahan comes an exquisite novel of Joy Davidman, the woman C. S. Lewis called “my whole world.” When poet and writer Joy Davidman began writing letters to C. S. Lewis—known as Jack—she was looking for spiritual answers, not love. Love, after all, wasn’t holding together her crumbling marriage. Everything about New Yorker Joy seemed ill-matched for an Oxford don and the beloved writer of Narnia, yet their minds bonded over their letters. Embarking on the adventure of her life, Joy traveled from America to England and back again, facing heartbreak and poverty, discovering friendship and faith, and against all odds, finding a love that even the threat of death couldn’t destroy.

In this masterful exploration of one of the greatest love stories of modern times, we meet a brilliant writer, a fiercely independent mother, and a passionate woman who changed the life of this respected author and inspired books that still enchant us and change us. Joy lived at a time when women weren’t meant to have a voice—and yet her love for Jack gave them both voices they didn’t know they had.

At once a fascinating historical novel and a glimpse into a writer’s life, Becoming Mrs. Lewis is above all a love story—a love of literature and ideas and a love between a husband and wife that, in the end, was not impossible at all.