Geekosaur

New Fiction Books I Got Recently [Nov. 2020]

On the past few months I've got some sweet new eBooks on my Kindle, further increasing the size of my ever-growing TBR list. But, who can resist a sweet deal, right?

Below I'm sharing some of the books I've acquired recently. It's not everything, as some are free classic books, and some just not that interesting. Also, the list is still a bit big, so I left the non-fiction reads for a separate post. I guess I need to stop buying books for a while. Anyway, let's check it out!

Photo by Aliis Sinisalu

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

This is the book I'm reading right now. I'm a couple chapters in, and so far so good. Seems that HULU is doing a limited series based on it. That's going to be cool!!

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia link

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic aristocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets. . . . From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes “a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror” (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico.

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn

A shorter read - only 177 pages - of a nordic mystery. Count me in for when winter hits!

The Bird Tribunal by Agnes Ravatn link

When a disgraced TV presenter takes up the role of housekeeper on an isolated Norwegian fjord, she develops a chilling, obsessive relationship with her employer … an award-winning, simply stunning debut psychological thriller from one of Norway’s finest writers.

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

Historical fantasy about musical prodigies? Ok, this is something I kinda have to add to my list. Music is - and will always be - kind of a sweet spot for me.

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu link

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her--perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.

Above the Bay of Angels by Rhys Bowen

Rhys Bowen is an author that always shows up for me on Amazon, as she writes a lot of historical mysteries - and many are cozy mysteries, which you can check here. But I always put off getting new cozy mysteries because they are like light novels and urban fantasy series: long. At least with cozy mysteries there's no need to read much further than volume 1 if you don't want, but still, I'm a completionist, hahaha. Anyway, this is a good opportunity for me to read something from her that is not part of a series.

Above the Bay of Angels by Rhys Bowen link

A single twist of fate puts a servant girl to work in Queen Victoria’s royal kitchen, setting off a suspenseful, historical mystery by the New York Times bestselling author of The Tuscan Child and The Victory Garden.

Becoming Mrs. Lewis: The Improbable Love Story of Joy Davidman and C. S. Lewis by Patti Callahan

I got this one because... it was cheap? Also, looks interesting, as it's about C. S. Lewis' love.

Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan link

In a most improbable friendship, she found love. In a world where women were silenced, she found her voice.

On the past few months I've got some sweet new eBooks on my Kindle, further increasing the size of my ever-growing TBR list. But, who can resist a sweet deal, right?


Webmentions